Chiari and incontinence problems

Have a child with SM/Chiari? Share issues unique to children and their caregivers.

Moderator: pmaxwell

Chiari and incontinence problems

Postby shannon » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:25 pm

Hi everyone,
I'm new to all this but I'm so excited to talk to people who are going through the same thing as us. Our 6 year old son Owen was just diagnosed with CM and SM. He also has scoliosis ( a 19 and 30 degree "S" curve) which is how doctors discovered his underlying spinal conditions. We are in disbelief that all this is happening to our seemingly healthy first grader. The one thing that is really concerning me is his seemingly more frequent incidents of accidents involving bowel movements. He is having a more and more difficult time getting to the bathroom in time and ends up soiling his pants. The frequency of these occurances has increased (now to 2 or 3 times a week). I brought it up to his spinal surgeon (we're still waiting to see a neurosurgeon) and he thinks there could be a medical cause related to the syrinx. I just don't know what to do in the meantime. I don't want him to be ridiculed by children at school and I hate to see him go through this. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice? I feel like the worst mother ever for punishing him in the past for these "accidents" before knowing about his condition. I'm just at a loss for what to do. If he is just being lazy in getting to the bathroom in time, I don't want to give him an excuse to keep doing it, but I also want to get him the help he needs if he really can't control it. Any ideas??
shannon

Re: Chiari and incontinence problems

Postby lcolangelo » Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:06 am

shannon,
Incontinence of both bowel and urine can defineitly be related to both chiari and cm-- how soon can you get inot a nsg? Where do you live?
lcolangelo

Postby shannon » Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:13 pm